Germany holds the G7 Presidency in 2022

Group of Seven Germany holds the G7 Presidency in 2022

Germany took over the Presidency of the G7 in 2022 – a responsible task in challenging times. This means that Germany will be hosting the annual summit of the G7 heads of state and government, an event that is considered the highlight of every Presidency.

Photo shows Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz

Federal Chancellor Scholz on the G7 Presidency. 

Photo: Federal Government

The G7 Summit 2022 will take place from 26 to 28 June at Schloss Elmau in the Bavarian Alps – as did the last G7 Summit under the German Presidency in June 2015. It will also be the seventh Summit to be hosted by Germany. The first time the G7 heads of state and government met under a German Presidency was in Bonn in 1978.

“We will make the most of our G7 Presidency to ensure this group of states takes on a pioneering role – in the pursuit of climate neutrality and an equitable world,” said Federal Chancellor Olaf Scholz at the handover of the G7 Presidency. Many of the goals Germany set itself at the beginning of the year had gained even greater urgency in view of the changed global situation, stressed the Federal Chancellor at the Global Solutions Summit at the end of March, referring to the Russian war of aggression against Ukraine.

The G7 consists of Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, Japan, Canada and the USA. The European Union is also represented at all G7 meetings. The Presidency rotates between members on an annual basis. Germany takes over the Presidency from the UK in 2022 and will be succeeded by Japan in 2023.