



International Expert Conference on the Recovery, Reconstruction and Modernisation of Ukraine

Berlin, 25 October 2022

Agenda

(subject to change)

08:00 Arrival / Coffee

Moderator: Ali ASLAN, International TV Presenter and Journalist

- **Opening Remarks** by Co-Hosts Olaf SCHOLZ, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Presidency of the G7, and Ursula VON DER LEYEN, President of the European Commission
- **09:15 Keynote Address** by Volodymyr ZELENSKYY, President of Ukraine
- 09:30 Opening Plenary: International Perspectives on Ukraine's Recovery, Reconstruction and Modernisation

Panelists:

Moderator: Heather A. CONLEY, President, the German Marshall Fund of the United States

- Denys SHMYHAL, Prime Minister of Ukraine
- Ignazio CASSIS, President of the Swiss Confederation
- Mateusz MORAWIECKI, Prime Minister, Poland
- Mathias CORMANN, Secretary-General of the Organisation of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
- James CLEVERLY, Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs, United Kingdom (video message)
- 10:15 **Family Photo** [Heads of Delegations and experts]
- 10:15 **Coffee Break** [other participants]
- 10:35 **Press Conference** by Co-Hosts Olaf SCHOLZ and Ursula VON DER LEYEN as well as Denys SHMYHAL, Prime Minister of Ukraine
- 11:30 Session 1: Lessons from Recovery Efforts of the Past

Panelists:

Moderator: Ulrike MALMENDIER, Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley and German Council of Economic Experts

- Alexander RODNYANSKY, Presidential Adviser, Ukraine; Assistant Professor of Economics, University of Cambridge
- Margaret MACMILLAN, Professor of History, University of Toronto
- Albrecht RITSCHL, Professor of Economic History, London School of Economics





12:30 Social Lunch

13:30 Session 2: Recovery and its Financing

Panelists:

Moderator: Markus BRUNNERMEIER, Professor of Economics, Princeton University

- Kristalina GEORGIEVA, Managing Director, International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- Odile RENAUD-BASSO, President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
- Werner HOYER, President, European Investment Bank (EIB)
- Oleksii CHERNYSHOV, Minister for Communities and Territories Development, Ukraine
- Michael HARMS, Executive Director, German Eastern Business Association

14:30 Session 3: Institutional Transformation, Good Governance and Inclusiveness

Panelists:

Moderator: Orysia LUTSEVYCH, Research Fellow and Manager of the Ukraine Forum in the Russia and Eurasia Programme, Chatham House

- Maciej POPOWSKI, Acting Director-General, Directorate General Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR), European Commission
- Olena HALUSHKA, Member of the Board, Anti-corruption Action Centre, Ukraine
- Corinne MOMAL-VANIAN, Executive Director, Kofi Annan Foundation

15:15 Coffee Break

15:30 Session 4: Macroeconomic and Financial Stability

Panelists:

Moderator: David WESSEL, Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

- Serhii MARCHENKO, Minister for Finance, Ukraine
- Arup BANERJI, Regional Country Director for Eastern Europe, World Bank Group
- Yuriy GORODNICHENKO, Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley (virtual)
- Beatrice WEDER DI MAURO, Professor of Economics, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies Geneva; President, Centre for Economic Policy Reserach (CEPR)
- Guntram WOLFF, Director, German Council on Foreign Relations (DGAP),
 Professor at the Solvay School of Economics and Management, Université Libre de Bruxelles





16:30 Session 5: Industrial Policy and Sustainable Development

Panelists:

Moderator: Ian GOLDIN, Professor of Globalisation and Development, Oxford University

- Achim STEINER, Administrator, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
- Oleksiy KOLEZHUK, Head of the Scientific Committee, National Council of Ukraine on Science and Technology Development; Professor of Physics, T. Shevchenko National University of Kyiv
- Vasco ALVES CORDEIRO, President, European Committee of the Regions
- Edward CHOW, Senior Associate, Center for Strategic and International Studies

17:30 Closing Remarks

- Denys SHMYHAL, Prime Minister, Ukraine
- Fumio KISHIDA, Prime Minister, Japan, incoming Presidency of the G7 (video message)
- Joko WIDODO, President, Indonesia, Presidency of the G20 (video message)
- Ursula VON DER LEYEN, President, European Commission
- Olaf SCHOLZ, Chancellor, Federal Republic of Germany, Presidency of the G7

18:00 **Reception at Westhafen**, Opening Remarks by German G7/G20 Sherpa and State Secretary Jörg KUKIES and Georg MILBRADT, Special Envoy of the German Federal Government for the Administrative Modernisation of Ukraine